Growing up in Southeastern Ontario I was surrounded by a lot of country music but listen to just about anything. After suffering a spinal cord injury on May 10 2011, there have been numerous songs released that I use as motivation to continue living my life. Some of these songs include: Rascal Flatts’ “Stand”, Katy Perry’s “Roar”, and Rachel Platten’s “Fight Song”. Now I have become part of an amazing project where I became a subject in the music video for The Abrams’ second single, “Champion”.

If you have yet to hear of The Abrams, you have been missing out as these boys are homegrown musicians from a very musical family and shared over the past four generations. John and I have gotten to know each other over the past seven years as I went to school with his now-amazing wife, Alex. With their roots dug deep in bluegrass music, they have the understanding and knowledge to play just about any string instrument. Over the last year they have started to rebrand themselves and take on more of a country feel with its undertones of bluegrass and folk music.

I felt extremely blessed when the Brothers asked me to be part of their music video for the song “Champion” as I have pushed forward with perseverance and adversity to overcome many obstacles in my life. A champion is someone who not only endures hard times but on top of that helps others through a great support network. I would not be where I am today if it were not for the army of people who have helped me along the way through all of the hard times in life.

The Abrams released their first EP on May 20 2016 after rebranding themselves from The Abram Brothers to just The Abrams. Their first single “Fine” was a very upbeat and fun song with a very folk-like feel. This is a great song to brighten up anyone’s day, especially when your Monday comes and you have to head back to work. One of my favourite songs off this EP is “Perfect” which I have fallen in love with as it showcases that they are also Christian-based and this song demonstrates that even when we are broken, there is always someone to look up to.

One thing that I love about them is that they have stayed true to their bluegrass roots in their music as heard in “Spend Your Life With Me”. A very upbeat song about proposing and enjoying life with that person that makes you feel special. Growing up and starting young, they have been performing together for 15 years and are the youngest Canadians to perform at the Grand Ole Opry. They are going to create another new sound within the country genre and their amazing bluegrass roots together and create some killer upbeat music and a light atmosphere.

If you have yet to get your copy of The Abrams EP make sure you head over to iTunes to get all of these amazing tracks and learn more about the style of music these boys can play. On October 26, 2016 the video for “Champion” airs on Country Music Television (CMT) in Canada so keep your eye out for the video and keep making “Champion” a hit single.

